The Fort Stanton Museum
Where it all started…
Initially, the museum building was a soldier’s barracks built in 1855, but it was converted to serve as an Administration Building for the Public Health Service during the hospital era.
Today, your journey through the fascinating history of Fort Stanton begins at the Museum which features excellent exhibits and introductory video that provides breathtaking images and informative interpretive content that bring the rich history and heritage of Fort Stanton to life.
Greeting more than 20000 annual visitors, the Museum at Fort Stanton was restored through a federal grant called the Save America’s Treasures and by Fort Stanton Inc., an all-volunteer, nonprofit corporation (501-c-3) founded in 1997 to help preserve this national treasure and to seek its adaptive reconstruction as a living history center.
Open Daily – 10:00 am – 4:00 pm, These hours are for the museum and museum store only. The grounds of Fort Stanton are always open. The museum may be closed in bad weather. No admission fee – donations appreciated. Museum phone number: (575) 354-0341.